Weekly Recap: Week 13: March 28th – April 3rd , 2016

Weekly Recap

Hey Guys! Welcome Back! This week was an insanely crazy training week in terms of lots of stuff going on at the same time. After the Tempe Triathlon on April 10th got cancelled due to construction on the dam I had two options for back up practice Olympic Tris for my 70.3 in July – One was this weekend  April 3rd the Goodyear Olympic Triathlon with a pool swim and the second was April 17th and was open water and the hardest course in Arizona. The problem was Revel Mount Charleston Marathon is coming up on May 7th and both of my 20 milers for the plan landed on both weekends and those are critical. So I consulted with a few people and decided I should go with the triathlon further away from my marathon in order to achieve optimal recovery and taper and thus that is how we landed on this weekend being scheduled for an insane amount of training with 20 Miler number one and an the Goodyear Olympic Triathlon planned!

So here is how is all went…

Monday:

  • Run: 8 Mile Speedwork alternating MP/HMP at 7:49 min/mi average {8:00/7:30/8:00/ 7:36/8:06/7:42/7:36/8:00}
  • Lift: Shoulders


Tuesday:

  • Brick: (AM): 5.5 Mile Recovery Run at 9:15 min/mi average + 1:25:00 Trainer Ride (approx 20 miles)  – Honestly I tested out my 20 miler when I went out but there was 15-25 mph winds and even though it was cool out I was just feeling drained from work so I called it after 5.5 miles and came inside and rode the trainer and watched the voice of DVR #Truth!
  • Lift (PM): Bis, Tris, Chest, Abs, Stretch


Wednesday:

  • Brick – Bike First: 1:05:00 (approx 15 miles) on Trainer
  • Brick – Swim Second: 2800m (1.75 miles) at 1:57/100m average – 2×800 + 3×400


Thursday:

  • Run: 5.5 Mile Recovery Run at 8:47 min/mi average
  • Lift: Back, Abs, Stretch


Friday:

  • 22 Miler at 9:12 min/mi average! I was so stocked about this run – my plan was to keep the pace at low heart rate low effort in order to not blow my legs for Sunday’s Triathlon and I ended up feeling great and being able to do the LONGEST training run I have ever been able to do in a marathon training cycle! 

 

Saturday:

  • Rest Day and Packet Pickup for Sunday’s Triathlon

Sunday:

  • Goodyear Olympic Triathlon: 4th Overall Female and 3rd Place Age Group: 2:46:28 – Recap to Follow… 🙂
    • Swim: 1 Mile in 00:31:32 – 1:58/100m average
    • T1: 00:02:45
    • Bike: 24 miles in 1:23:23 – 17.3 mph average
    • T2: 00:02:46
    • Run: 6 Miles in 46:24 – 7:44 min/mi average

 Totals:

  • Run: 47 Miles (07:10:00)
  • Bike: 59 Miles (03:54:00)
  • Swim: 2.75 Miles/4400m (01:26:00)
  • Lift: 3 Sessions (02:15:00)
  • 1 Olympic Triathlon!
  • Total Training Volume: 14:45:00

With Love and Training,

❤ Kindal (RunningWithStrength)

 

6 thoughts on “Weekly Recap: Week 13: March 28th – April 3rd , 2016

  1. Wow. That was an incredible week. I can’t believe u did 22 on Friday then competed and CRUSHED onSunday. Good for you.

    I’m marathon training now and I’m going back and forth about my long run schedule (I’m 8 weeks out) I did a 30k Yesterday, and I need to get at least one 20/22 miler in, and I have a race calendar to consider. Do you think I can do a 20 miler, and then a 2 week taper period is enough before a full? (Race is may 29th… Last long run should be maybe May 14th??)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Seriously, you are incredible. I hope you know that! I’m so happy your triathlon went good. How was the Olympic distance? Your long run was also right on point! Looking gorgeous and strong!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww OMG thanks so darn much – I adore you! I had only done sprints prior (last one 6 years ago lol) but I really enjoyed it! So much different than running events for sure – I felt like mentally it was easier to just split it up into 3 events! Super excited to continue to my 70.3 and 140.6! I’m always gonna be a runner at heart but I also do love the triathlon even though I am slow compared to the other cyclists lol!

      Like

Leave a comment